Bet Lab: 2019 Rising Star Award

The No.1 overall selection in the 2018 AFL Draft Sam Walsh is current favourite to win the 2019 Rising Star Award, Walsh was listed at $9.00 to win shortly following the Draft and has firmed into $5.50 at BetEasy.

Walsh averaged 29.0 Disposals & 6.8 Tackles during the 2018 U18 National Championships, he is on track to debut in Round 1.

February 4: “He’s been really impressive on the track. I think he will slot very nicely into our midfield.” Kade Simpson on Sam Walsh.

Signed: Michael Gibbons & Matthew Cottrell

Sam Walsh

Will Setterfield is currently second favourite to win the 2019 Rising Star Award, he was listed at $7.00 post Draft and has drifted slightly out to $8.50.

Setterfield missed the 2018 season after rupturing his ACL in a pre-season game against Sydney, he was traded to Carlton in the off-season and is on track to play in Round 1.

Follow on Twitter @aflratingsLab

Setterfield played only 2 games at the Giants averaging 9.0 Disposals & 2.5 Marks in 2017, he averaged 25.0 Disposals, 4.7 Marks & 7.6 Tackles in the NEAFL in 2017.

January 27: “Over the next week or two he’ll be into the full training group doing full game play situations.. he’s looking really good for the start of the season” Carlton Director of High Performance Andrew Russell on Will Setterfield.

AFL Fantasy: 2019 Top 5 Players Under $200K

Other movements in the 2019 Rising Star Market include Izak Rankine $13 now into $11 & Esava Ratugolea $7.50 out to $9.00.

Izak Rankine


$5.50 Sam Walsh
$8.50 Will Setterfield
$9.00 Esava Ratugolea
$11 Izak Rankine
$13 Darcy Fogarty, Jack Lukosius, Aiden Bonar, Luke Davies-Uniacke
$15 Sam Taylor
$17 Nick Coffield, Bailey Smith
$19 Jack Scrimshaw
$26 Stefan Giro, Todd Marshall, Connor Rozee, Nick Blakey

*Odds via Bet Easy (More players available)

To be eligible to be nominated for the award, a player must be younger than 21 years of age on 1 January of the award year and have played 10 or fewer senior games before the beginning of the season.

Previous Rising Star Winners 2014-18

2018: Jaidyn Stephenson (Collingwood)
2017: Andrew McGrath (Essendon)
2016: Callum Mills (Sydney)
2015: Jesse Hogan (Melbourne)
2014: Lewis Taylor (Brisbane)

Follow on Twitter @aflratingsLab 

AA Post High